Home Popup #WhatsOnAbruzzo Events Sunday Live in Abruzzo: Civita D’Antino – Art & Aspiration in Abruzzo’s Mountain Villages

Sunday Live in Abruzzo: Civita D’Antino – Art & Aspiration in Abruzzo’s Mountain Villages

by Sam Dunham

Art & Aspiration in Abruzzo's Mountain Villages


Join on Zoom,  with special guest Dr James Schwarten, who will discuss the little-known and enchanting of a community of Scandinavian painters in the remote mountain village of Civita D’Antino.

This community provides a fascinating entry-point through which we consider the social, cultural and economic changes that have played witness to the village’s dramatic transformation over the last century and poses an apparent paradox: in today’s hyper-connected world, how can we explain the ongoing obscurity of villages like Civita D’Antino, when just 100 years ago they were thriving, self-sustaining communities?

The chat will be in English, with plenty of time for questions in English or Italian!

Sunday 24th May, 5.15 pm CET, 4.15 pm BST, 11.15 am EDT


James Schwarten teaches courses in sociology and Italian literature and language in American institutions of higher learning in Rome. He co-curated the 2014 exhibit Impressionisti Danesi in Abruzzo at the National Gallery of ’s Museo Andersen.

How to Join the Online Talk

Simply register for the free Zoom event on Eventbrite here and you will be emailed the secure link ready for Zoom on Friday 22nd May with a reminder on Sunday 24th May

 

 

View the Town Today

Civita D’Antino

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of
All about Abruzzo in a slow travel & food blog
All about Abruzzo in a slow travel & food blog